Small Talk – Irvine

Yesterday I put my life (well, my lunch) in the hands of Monica. I was down visiting her for the day so she was in complete control of where we ate and gossiped for the afternoon. At around 11 o’clock she took me to Small Talk, a little coffee shop facing the harbour in Irvine. We went early as Monica knew the tiny café was likely to get busy around lunchtime, and we wanted to be sure we got a table.

After spending a while chatting over tea (me) and coffee (Monica) we decided to order some lunch. Both of us went for the Roast Beef and Caramelised Onion Panini with soup – Monica choosing the Cream of Spinach and I the Chicken and Rice. On ordering the panini, I had expected chunks of steak, but was slightly disappointed to find the roast beef in question was thin slices of beef – like the kind you buy in a packet at the supermarket. However, the panini redeemed itself with the sweet and sticky onion chutney that was contained within it. My soup was tasty, although the meat in this was also a little disappointing – replace the cubes of cheap chicken with flaky, soft roasted meat and you’ll be on to a winner. Monica seemed to enjoy her soup, which certainly looked creamy and thick.

After perusing the gorgeous looking cakes and tray bakes which lined the counter, we both chose to finish off with a slice of Lemon Meringue Pie, mine with cream and Monica’s with ice cream. The pie was nice, although not like any other Lemon Meringue Pie I’ve had – instead of a lemon curd the middle seemed to be filled with some sort of fruit that I couldn’t quite identify (apple?) and the lemon flavour could definitely have been stronger.

Everything I ate was nice enough, and I would go back if I was in the area. Certainly the place filled up and is clearly popular with the locals, so it must be doing something right.

Small Talk – Facebook

Leave a Reply

