Grace and Favour – Bearsden

I’ve heard a lot of mixed reviews about Grace and Favour since it opened about 18 months ago. Most people I spoke to said the food was nice enough, but very over priced. I’d heard complaints about the coffee, and seen bad reviews about the service. These were just some of the reasons why I had never visited the cafe, despite its close proximity to my house.

However, last week I was trusted with a very important task – choosing somewhere local for Olivia and I to eat. Olivia loves food about as much as I do (I know, you wouldn’t think it was possible!) so this was a big responsibility. Reliable old favourite, Cafe Creme, was full to busting so we ventured round the corner to Grace and Favour. We were sat promptly and politely – so far, so good – but it only took one glance at the menu to confirm my fears. Bearsden may be considered a pretty affluent area, but I’m sure most people would still begrudge paying £7.25 for a sandwich, with a £3 supplement to add a bowl of soup.

Despite the price, I ordered the Smoked Salmon and Cream Cheese sandwich on granary bread. Credit where credit is due – a massive sandwich filled with soft, smokey salmon and creamy cheese made for a very tasty lunch, but the price was still more than it needed to be.

Olivia stuck with the soup of the day – Broccoli, Courgette, Feta and Mint. While she raved about the flavour – she’s since decided to try and recreate it – it was a pretty measly portion for £4.

So do I agree with the reviews I’ve heard from others? Well the food was good, as was the service, but the price let it down in a big way. I would maybe return if I was looking for a really nice lunch, but I would definitely need to be prepared to splash out!

Grace and Favour – Facebook

Leave a Reply

