GFG’s Top Ten of 2015

I had a lot of fabulous meals out last year – and some not so fabulous. Before I begin a new year of reviews, I’ve decided to revisit my top ten food experiences of 2015.

10: Wally’s Kaffehaus – Cardiff

At number ten on the list is one of the best breakfasts I’ve ever had – the Continental Breakfast Platter from Wally’s Kaffehaus, Cardiff. Probably the most simple meal to make it onto the list, this breakfast was a bit of a revelation. Cured meats, cheeses and an ingredient I wouldn’t ordinarily choose – hard boiled egg. The small café was quiet when we were there, but the staff were polite and attentive, and the food simple but delicious.

9: Garvie and Co. – Milngavie

Numerous visits to Garvie and Co. have consistently produced good results, but the one that stands out was when we visited for dinner way back in April. Although dad’s curry wasn’t spicy enough for him, mum and I savoured our delicious Slow Cooked Pork Belly.  As usual, service was good and the environment clean and pleasant to be in. All in all, I would recommend Garvie and Co. based on this visit alone.

8: Rafaelle’s – Bearsden

Delicious food and huge portions – what’s not to love about newcomer Rafaelle’s? A more expensive night out, one expects a flawless experience at Rafaelle’s, and apart from our waitress’ particularly high voice, there were no complaints after our visit. I’m very keen to support local businesses, and so I’m glad that Rafaelle’s made it so easy for us to do just that!

7: The Woodhouse – Kippen

The always busy Woodhouse was the first establishment I ever reviewed on this blog, and I’m pleased to say that it’s made it into the top ten. Both of my visits there have seen them produce simple but gorgeous food. Their main dishes were as delicious and tempting as their cakes, and the cosy surroundings make for an brilliant experience.

6: Borough Market – London

Day ten of our holiday was certainly one of our favourites in terms of food, as that was the day we visited Borough Market in London. One of the best things about market eating is that it allows you to try a few different things. Trying Ethiopian food for the first time was certainly a highlight, but my favourite food of the day was the Goat Souvlaki from Gourmet Goat. I love goat meat – when cooked well it is tender, succulent and full of flavour. I would revisit Borough Market in a heartbeat, and though it’s not a restaurant it had to make this list as one of my best food experiences of 2015.

5: Jamie’s Italian – Glasgow

I’m a longstanding fan of Jamie’s Italian, but our most recent visit managed to outdo many of our previous meals there. From our starter of Fried Stuffed Olives (one word – yum!) to my Molten Chocolate Praline Pudding (Best. Chocolate. Fondant. Ever.) every mouthful was a delight. I certainly found a few new menu items to favour, and I know what I’ll be ordering next time I visit.

4: Wee Lochan – Glasgow

Well, that Twice Baked Goat Cheese Soufflé had to make it into the top ten, didn’t it! Cheese Soufflé, Duck Breast and Trio of Desserts – it wasn’t exactly a light meal, but it certainly was tasty! The Wee Lochan isn’t a cheap option, but as far as special nights out go, it’s definitely a good choice.

3: The Akeman -Tring  

The Akeman provided food at a standard not unlike that which we had at the Wee Lochan. My Prosciutto Wrapped Asparagus with Mozzarella and Pesto was one of my most memorable starters of the year, whilst my lamb main course was one of the more indulgent food choices I’ve had the pleasure of reviewing.  It’s a shame The Akeman is so far away, as I’m sure it wouldn’t take much to persuade us to return!

2: Thairiffic – Glasgow

Three visits to Thairiffic should tell you how we feel about Glasgow’s hidden Thai restaurant. Our favourite dish – the Ped Sauce Ma-Kham – could probably make it onto this list on it’s own, but it’s been helped along by the other fabulous dishes and wonderful service provided at Thairiffic. In fact, aside from the food, my favourite thing about Thairffic is the competent, polite, chatty but not overbearing staff.  Every visit has been great, and the small but perfectly formed restaurant deserves it’s spot at number two on this list.

1: Wahaca – Cardiff

It was a tough call to choose who would fill the number one spot on this list, but ultimately I couldn’t go past the varied flavours of Wahaca. Every single one of our tapas-style dishes was delicious, with particular favourites including the Quesadillas, Frijoles with Chorizo and the Steak Tacos. Following Wahaca on social media is both a blessing and a curse – it’s hard know that, while you’re drooling over pictures of their food, I won’t be visiting one of their establishments anytime soon, as the closest is in Liverpool! And while I have the memories of the brilliant market food to sustain me, I wouldn’t have any complaints if Wahaca were to open a Scottish branch of their restaurant in Glasgow.

 

So those are my top ten of 2015 – a great year of food and drink. Happy New Year to everyone, I hope this year brings all the food you could wish for!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

