GFG Food Awards 2016 – Best Street Food

The Nominees;

    Greek Grill House, Glasgow:

Every time Glasgow plays host to the Global Village Market I head in for some delicious street food. One of my favourite stalls is the Greek Grill House who sell authentic gyros and filled filo pastries. It’s the gyros that’s my go-to dish though – soft bread encasing tender meat, fluffy chips and a host of sauces and accompaniments; what’s not to love? This is the only stall that I always visit, which should show you how much I love their food!

Global Village Market 06.04.16
Gyros

Greek Grill House Review

 

    Crema Caravan, Glasgow:

The majority of street food I eat is of the savoury variety, however the Crema Caravan had to be on this list for their take on crème brûlée. Burnt to order, the Crema Caravan have a rotating menu which encompasses both traditional crème brûlée and those with a little twist. I had their Rhubarb and Custard Crème Brûlée back in May and was amazed at every element of the dessert. The rhubarb compote was sweet yet tart and the cardamom palmier  was crispy and subtly flavoured. Underneath lay the best crème brûlée I’ve ever had – smooth, silky, thick and moreish. Crema Caravan proved that you can be creative and innovative whilst preparing awesome food, so I’m in no doubt that they deserve their place on this list.

StrEat Market 13.05.16 (5)
Rhubarb and Custard Crème Brûlée

Crema Caravan Review

 

    Chompsky, Glasgow:

Unless you’re completely new to this blog, you’ll know by now that I LOVE Chompsky. I’ve found, so far, that their food is flawless no matter what they’re serving. Bao Buns? Delicious. Crispy Squid? Exquisite. Burritos, Nachos and Tacos? Superb. In my eyes, Chompsky really can do no wrong, and their place on this list was guaranteed the minute I decided on a best street food category.

Taste Buchanan 26.08.16 (2)
Korean Fried Chicken Bao Bun

Chompsky Review

 

Winner;

    Chompsky, Glasgow:

I doubt you’re surprised to find that I’ve crowned Chompsky the winners of this category – after all, I’ve bought from them six times since discovering them back in May. I’d recommend their food to anyone, and I suggest that you head up to Taste Buchanan or keep an eye on their Facebook to see where their van will be and when. I promise – you won’t regret it!

best-street-food

 

The Crema Caravan – Twitter

Chompsky – Website

Chompsky – Facebook

 

One thought on “GFG Food Awards 2016 – Best Street Food

  1. Pingback: GFG Food Awards 2016 – Best Overall – Glasgow Food Girl

Leave a Reply

