Kember and Jones – Glasgow

When I asked Heather where she fancied going for lunch she opted for Kember and Jones, remembering a great slice of cake she had there last year. I was perfectly happy with this choice, although I can’t say I was super excited – after all, just how nice a meal can you have in a compact little deli/cafe like Kember and Jones? Well, boy was I wrong – the food was fantastic!

The menu at Kember and Jones is bulked up with a few specials which change daily, and it was from the specials menu that Heather and I each selected a tart. I was suckered in by the Asparagus, Ricotta and Chervil Tart, while Heather opted for the Wild Mushroom and Thyme Tart. Both were served warm with a plate of dressed leaf, olives and a very tasty dressed salad of beans. I was a little worried the chervil may overpower the subtle flavour of the asparagus in my tart, but I needn’t have worried as I couldn’t really pick out the chervil flavour at all. The pastry was well baked, light and flaky and held a creamy, subtly flavoured filling, with the accompanying selection of salads a very welcome change from the standard soggy leaf and stale crisps combo.

Kember and Jones 07.04.17.jpg
Asparagus, Ricotta and Chervil Tart

We had both chosen a lighter dish with the intention of also having some cake afterwards. The selection was bountiful, with tray bakes, large cakes, loafs, and muffins all adorning the deli counter. Deciding what to select was no mean feat – everything looked fabulous! Heather opted for the Salted Caramel and Banana Cake while I hummed and hawed over the Banana Bread with Raspberries, the Apple Streusel Cake, and the White Chocolate and Passion Fruit Muffins. Eventually I decided on the Apple Streusel Cake, mainly because I’m a sucker for crumble/streusel toppings. The slices of cake which we were served were huge, more than making up for the slightly elevated price tag attached to them. Heather’s cake was a moist banana bread mixture with a creamy, sweet icing – I wouldn’t have necessarily identified that it contained salted caramel, but it’s hard to care when the cake is that good! My monstrous slice of Apple Streusel Cake was comprised of a soft, fluffy cake, slices of sweet apple and a fabulous, crunchy, crumbly topping. The topping was so good, I even enjoyed the pecans which were studded across it. Though we did our very best to finish our cakes, they were so big that we asked for doggy bags – well, with cake that good I wasn’t going to leave it behind, was I?

Kember and Jones 07.04.17 (2)
Salted Caramel Banana Cake and Apple Streusel Cake

Admittedly, this is not the cheapest place to have tea and cake – even in the West End you will find less expensive options. However, I’m not convinced any of those options would serve you as good a slice of cake as Kember and Jones. Definitely one to return to!

Kember and Jones – Website

Kember and Jones – Facebook

Leave a Reply

