Wilson Street Pantry – Glasgow

Brunch, I have felt recently, is a meal that I do not partake of often enough. It is a meal with great potential and so many possibilities, and yet I hardly ever find myself in the position to enjoy it. So, when Louise suggested brunch in the Merchant City I was totally on board and more than happy to visit her recommendation of the Wilson Street Pantry.

Wilson Street Pantry sits unassumingly in the Merchant City – if it hadn’t been for Louise’s local knowledge I’d never have known where to look for them. The interior is lovely and bright, so even on a cold day it felt like the sun was shining outside. Louise went for her usual order of Toast with Avocado, adding two Poached Eggs. It took me a little longer to decide – I was (unusually) not super hungry so wanted something light, but I wasn’t really up for eggs. Instead, I opted for the Toast with Feta and Prosciutto and a good old cup of breakfast tea.

Wilson St. Pantry 30.06.17
Toast with Avocado and Poached Eggs

Both dishes featured nicely toasted sourdough bread, with Louise’s topped with a good helping of avocado (the devil’s food, in my opinion) and two perfectly poached eggs. My chewy, crusty toast was topped with subtle prosciutto and tangy feta and drizzled with pesto, which just offset the other flavours brilliantly. A really nice dish, especially if you’re looking for something on the lighter side.

Wilson St. Pantry 30.06.17 (2)
Toast with Feta and Prosciutto

I’d definitely go back to Wilson Street Pantry, either for brunch, lunch or a cuppa in between. The cafe had a lovely atmosphere and despite being busy didn’t feel overcrowded, and we definitely weren’t rushed out the door. Given that my new resolution is to eat more brunch, I’m sure I’ll find myself back here sooner rather than later.

Wilson Street Pantry – Website

Wilson Street Pantry – Facebook

One thought on “Wilson Street Pantry – Glasgow

Leave a Reply

